18.03.2024

I GOT THE INTERNSHIP I WANTETDDDD AAAAAAAAA

28.02.2024

πŸ–‹ quick thoughts on AI generated art and writing

Why don't we stop fucking around and shift the debate from the quality of AI-generated art to the experience of creating? The ethics of that are more difficult to put into words, but I think it's an argument with some longevity, along with those concerning environmental hazards, labour issues and data theft.

basing arguments on the quality of the art has never, and will never, do anything good for people who like to create. 6-fingered hands and 40 teeth were fun to laugh at, but in the blink of an eye AI-art has become nearly indistinguishable from human art especially for an untrained eye, while people cry "AI generated!" in the replies of any artist who seems to struggle with getting the hands, or really, anything, right (but we all know how infuriating the hands are) (it's only fair that AI technology had to go through that as well).

In a travelogue I just finished reading a marble sculptor in Tuscany is asked about the threat of AI and replies that human art is irreplaceable, claiming that "the human soul is in the hands". I'm undecided on believing in souls but i DO believe in existential dread, pandemic-level cases of depression, and a fundamental need for humans to express themselves and to create. And if we map out that need, and why that makes our brains different from computers, I think we have a stronger argument than "AI art ugly thooo". I believe it's a task for various disciplines in the humanities and that we should get to work before we hand over creativity to capitalist computer programs and then justify it by saying that it improves our workflow and it allowed us to produce 5 AAA games in a year or whatever.

I'd also get into how AI-art is being used in educational institutions which are notoriously obsessed with plagiarism but I'm saving that for another time/an actual article/a formal complaint to half of my department

22.02.2024

hello web, it's been a while. I haven't actually been active anywhere recently, I've spent a lot of time out, I've been trying to spend more time on political activism even if it's a bit scary to go out and get loud on my own, and learning new skills, and I've actually been reading a lot these days - which, by the way, you're sort of forced to when the library decides that the 8 books you waited half a year for should become available in the same week!!!!

On the other hand I've been so busy with my job because I can't seem to finish the most simple tasks. and also school, which is not... killing me at all, the inertia and burnout just piles up... but I'm applying for some internships and if everything goes ok, I have a very interesting year ahead of me, so I try to keep my spirits up and not crash:) I've been thinking of starting a separate blog about travelling and urban development, so just some of the things that I spend a lot of time on when I'm not in my little online space. I think I'm maybe at a point where I don't mind merging my real life with my online life a bit more. The web used to be like a saferoom for me that had nothing to do with the outside, but recently I feel more...happy, confident, whatever. so it might be time to open the door just a little?

β™« Foals - Wash Off
05.11.2023

hello web!! despite having the worst hangover in ages i'm super stoked to write that i finally finished my short comic "The Fjord House"! it ended up being just about 50 pages and now i just need to figure out how and when to post it online, I'm thinking the end of this month? almost can't wait to share it...:)

β™« Wild Nothing - Presidio
30.09.2023

going through a lot recently...but in some way it's like i finally crossed a sea and now i'm ready for a new and entirely different journey by land.

went to another concert today with Fallulah, my first true love when it comes to music. her first album was the first CD i bought for myself when i got my first paycheck, her most recent album is when i decided to switch to vinyl. She did a cover of Hollow Talk by Choir of Young Believers whose lead singer passed away suddenly last year. it moved me to tears...

β™« Fallulah - Dried-out Cities
12.09.2023

Feeling a bit silly looking back at my last post after watching the Bunker (2001), and seeing how the game is more than a little inspired by the setting!! regardless, I think the game still has that emotional level on a grand scale that you rarely see in horror. as in, not building horror from the gore of war, but maybe building horror from the despair of war? I replayed a machine for pigs which I was not terribly fond of the first time (maybe because i, like many others at the time of release, expected something very similar to the dark descent), but the narrative really struck me in a different way this time, and I might've gained a new fondness of it.

Other than that... I'm enjoying being back at university, I like the people and the work, and I'm more motivated than ever to write. It'll probably keep me busy for a while. I'm also picking some art projects up again, trying to get some of them done bit by bit. really just taking everything at my own pace. But I've definitely grown a bit over the last year, almost as if I'm 10 years older suddenly. small things don't bother me much, I feel like I can approach people with openness, I feel like I have energy to interact with the world and see beauty in it. strange how much that's changed. I've been told I look happier, someone who just met me thought I was incredibly extroverted (lol. me?)

oh, a final thing, slowdive's newest album is one of the best things i've heard in a long time. I could say a lot of things about how it makes me feel so nostalgic and calm and hopeful during my morning commute when the train crosses the bridge over the sea and the sea and sky seem to blend together, but instead I'll point to this pitchfork article which says a lot of lovely things about the album that I wasn't able to come up with:)

β™« Slowdive - the slab
21.08.2023

Summer surely passes fast...in just two weeks I go to uni...again... Hopefully this time it pays off and I never have to work on another degree again.....

I guess I'm pretty happy overall. I feel like I grew up a bit over the last few months... and Ive been working as an assistant for an art curator, I never thought I'd get to work with art <:)

I think I'll use this entry to write about two pieces of media that really altered my brain chemistry recently. The first is Nolan's Oppenheimer, if anyone reading this knows me they know I'm a fan of everything Nolan has made, and although I don't think Oppenheimer is his best work (the trial sucked. no artistic vision i feel. my humble kinophile opinion) it hasn't left my mind at all. the quantum revolution is one of my favourite topics in the philosophy of science and seeing the emotional side of these discoveries portrayed so well and on film... mindblowing. I might watch it a third time.

the other piece of media was the new Amnesia game which takes place on the Western front of WW1 and. huh. whoever thought of this setting for a horror game was a genius. What's more dreadful, the supernatural horror going on down below, or the war going on above? I loved the brevity of the game and the complete hopelessness of the setting, Tarmia on the soundtrack which I haven't stopped listening to. Another frictional master class in how to do horror, but even more so a master class in how to do despair. I've never cared much for WW1 despite being a historian because it really felt just like that: pointless. but that really is the lesson to take away from it, isn't it??

so yeah- recent media consumption off my chest. I've been so inspired to read up on the two particular periods since then, and that has taken up most of my time besides work :'D maybe I'll do book recommendations for my next post. who knows.

06.05.2023

Just wanna talk about live music these days! maybe because festival season is around the corner and for once i was able to get a festival ticket :) I realised I've been to about two concerts a month this year which I'm actually really happy about- I have so little money to spend but for once I'm prioritising going out and enjoying myself over everything else, even if I have to go alone. which I did today, Greenlandic band Nanook, such a blast! I don't speak a word of Greenlandic but a lot of people in the audience did, and the vibe was great. (also their lead singer is very handsome)

I might be switching jobs soon so hopefully much more live music for me after the Summer, where I'll also start studying again. Definitely hasn't been easy recently but seems like things are getting a bit better!

β™« Nanook - Aarnuaq
20.03.2023

Back already with...site updates! I made the site slightly more mobile-friendly, updated the about-page, new header and button, but MOST IMPORTANTLY I updated the projects page with all the stories I'm working on, including a whole page dedicated to my TTRPG character drawings (mostly for me i guess but whatever) so go check that out!!!

β™« Air - La femme d'argent
14.03.2023

Long time no diary entry! I have a physical diary as well so I don't have much practical need for this blog, but it's nice to update it once in a while.

I'm waiting to hear back from a university programme I applied for, but I'm not sure I actually want to be admitted...I feel pretty lost about what I want to do or who I am. I want to commit harder to art but I'm still learning how to really express myself. I'm thinking of getting into printing zines, I have some personal things I think would be interesting to tell in zine format. Currently I'm working on and off on a short comic about the meeting between a human and a zombie, this is the first page

I'm not pressuring myself to finish it in a certain timeframe, but I've made decent progress and looking forward to publish the full thing...! It's nice to have a smaller project to work on, I put a lot of effort into a long-form webcomic that I wasn't entirely ready for, so if I get to finish a comic project it'd be a really big step for me.

β™« Labyrinth Ear - Lithium
31.10.2022

I seem to be surrounded by death these days even if mostly in my peripheral vision. Although not family or a friend I was really saddened by the passing of Ryan Karazija of Low Roar which i've enjoyed the voice of faithfully for the last decade. I listened to his first album when i was struck with seasonal depression and it has since then been a stable every year when the days started getting shorter. now I find myself in the grip of winter again, I'm sending applications for months of unpaid internship work, i haven't drawn in months, even thinking about taking a walk or watching a movie makes me want to sleep for hours. i'm always tired and my hands are always cold. i occilate between being numbed out and wondering if there's a point to all of this. i'm trying to read more to make the time pass and root myself in reality, ironic as it sounds. anyway today's song is a song i used to listen to in the dark:

β™« Low Roar - Tonight, Tonight, Tonight
14.06.2022

caught a mild case of covid about two weeks ago which gave me a good break from work and also gave me an excuse to dodge a wedding i'd have to travel abroad to attend, would've completely nuked my bank account. Sadly I spent the entire time in quarantine drawing and now I have really bad wrist pain:^-) It's only been 2 days of not using my hand at all and I'm just about completely shriveled up and ready to die. I got into a really good groove and instantly got punished. so I'm spending today taking a look at my music library and if I could reduce my spotify usage a bit and return to the mp3 days. and it's... surprisingly hard! it takes a serious amount of effort to navigate bandcamp because the media player is just that shitty. but it *does* feel like I'm doing something good for myself and the world and so on so I'm gonna up my patience for this little project and report back

β™« Macroblank - ステップバむステップ
31.05.2022

took a long break from creative side projects to figure stuff out since graduating, somehow having nothing to do took away all my motivation to spend time on the stuff i wanted a break to work on in the first place... I really want to put something out there but it's hard to stay consistent when all the days blend together. Also putting out tentative dates for shit feels kinda pointless because I never actually follow up on them lol.

on another note, my memory has been really terrible recently and i need to keep notebooks & diaries to remember things that happened. I think at some point it could be interesting to revisit the notebooks through art. I considered doing a dream diary since my dreams are so vivid recently and I had a lot of success keeping one in the past. I read that LSD dream emulator was based on an employee's dream diary and i'd fucking love to make a game experience similar to that

19.01.2022

Been a while since I took a look at this site but since finishing thesis I've had more time on my hands. trying to put together all this code with my lack of coding skills is pretty fun until the whole thing just breaks

26.09.2021

Alriiiiiight

β™« Barselona & Artigeardit - StΓ₯ op og gΓ₯ ned